My Ice Cream Maker, My Best Friend

I would also consider my cat my best friend.  But he’s off in Rhode Island, living the life of a luxuriously spoiled stuffed filet of cat.

tumblr_lxiocjo4J11r8gb9wo1_1280

My ice cream maker definitely helps when I’m here, without a cuddly beast, and in need of constant entertainment.  Also ice cream just tastes damn good, even when its cold out.

My ice cream maker is the boring ole’ Cuisinart model.  I did my research before asking for it for Christmas/Hannukah/ Holiday Time.  The best model IS the boring model that will only set you back around $60 on Amazon. And once you have it, boy will you churn out a lot of ice cream.

P1010442

I now own four cookbooks dedicated solely to ice cream.  But I also have other books with ice cream chapters.  And sometimes I even make up new flavors by myself.

I made English breakfast ice cream with raspberry maple swirl.  It wasn’t good.

But one ice cream I’ve invented that I do love is Tahini Honey.  It works well with caramel milk chocolate sauce.

P1010318

The first time I made this ice cream, I served it to some friends with, well, less refined palates (at the time).  They hated it and I was crushed.  I refused to let anyone else try it.  Except for my father cause he has to be nice to me.  When I tried it for a second time with him, I realized it was actually one of the best ice creams I’ve ever made.  And I made it all myself!

The milk chocolate caramel sauce comes from my cooking bible, The Sweet Life: Desserts from Chanterelle.  I served some to my roommate, Slug.  She had just started a diet.  And then ended it immediately.

P1010417

Now the ice cream recipe is pretty simple, no need to make a stirred custard, just heat up some milk and add it to the tahini and honey mixture.  But the chocolate sauce does involve making caramel.

P1010327

Bubbling, boiling, burning hot sugar.

 I have found a pretty easy way to do it, but some people get thrown off with all that hot (and I mean hot and sticky) sugar.  Its easy to burn it if you don’t pay attention, so be careful.  Otherwise, your home will smell like burnt sugar forever.  Or like a few hours.

Tahini and Honey Ice Cream:

Adapted from no one.  Created by me.

150 grams tahini

150 grams honey

1 1/4 cup heavy cream

1 cup whole milk

Whisk the tahini and honey together until completely mixed.  Heat up the milk and cream until it simmers.  Pour it into the tahini and honey mixture and whisk until there are no more clumps of tahini and the mixture is completely smooth and light tan.  Cool over an ice bath until room temperature and then chill in the fridge at least 8 hours, or overnight.  Run it through your ice cream maker according to the manufacturers instructions.

Caramel Milk Chocolate Sauce:

Adapted from The Sweet Life: Desserts from Chanterelle

150 grams sugar

Pinch of cream of tarter

1/4 cup water

1/2 cup cream

120 grams creme fraiche

3 ounces (85 grams) milk chocolate (I used Callebaut, but Valrhona makes an incredible milk chocolate if you can find it)

Place the sugar, cream of tarter, and water in a medium saucepan.  Cover and heat over high heat until it comes to a rolling boil.  Remove the cover, turn the heat down to medium high, and watch like a hawk.  When the color begins to change from clear to golden brown, become a sharper hawk.  Swirl the pan a bit if the color is uneven.  Once it reaches golden brown caramel color, turn off the heat IMMEDIATELY and then add the cream.  It will steam and hiss furiously.

Whisk the cream and caramel together over medium high heat until it reaches a rolling boil.  Then whisk in the creme fraiche.  Turn off the heat and let cool for ten minutes.

Meanwhile, melt the chocolate in a bain marie.  To make a bain marie set a metal or glass bowl over a pot of simmering water, making sure the bowl doesn’t touch the water.  Some people believe metal heats the chocolate too quickly and think glass is better, but if you only have metal, don’t worry, it will be fine.  Place the chocolate in the bowl and stir frequently until melted, 5-10 minutes.

Add a ladleful of caramel mixture to the melted chocolate and whisk until combined.  The chocolate might seize up a bit, but don’t worry it will all smooth out.  Continue adding in ladlefuls until all the caramel is mixed in, whisking until combined after each addition.  Once everything is added, whisk the sauce until it is smooth, shiny, and holds the lines of the whisk.

Serve warm, or eat cold with a spoon.  Store in the refrigerator for up to one week, although there is no way it will last that long.

4 comments
    • Eliza B said:

      Only takes about 10 hours and an ice cream maker!

Leave a Reply

