Guinness Gingerbread Cupcakes with Lime Frosting

P1020274This week is the last week of classes.  Its a mad rush to get everything finished in the one week where every teacher assigns something to be due.  We’ve got tests, papers, presentations, what have you.  But as a senior, you know what?  Its okay.  And by its okay, I mean I’ve watched a lot of netflix recently and am none to bothered about all of my papers and tests.  Sorry parents.

This weekend, therefore, I did little in the way of work.  And Friday I made cupcakes.

The batter was very tasty.  And made exactly 12 cupcakes.  Sadly, no extra batter for snackage.

The batter was very tasty. And made exactly 12 cupcakes. Sadly, no extra batter for snackage.

I’m not a huge fan of food trends.  First cupcakes, then macarons, then designer chocolate or whatever it is now.  But I do like cupcakes.  In moderation and as long as they aren’t dry.

These were neither dry nor were they eaten in moderation.  But thats okay.  Moderation can be overrated.

Siegfried does not moderate his Kahlua intake.  Nor does he leave his post.

Siegfried does not moderate his Kahlua intake. Nor does he leave his post at the liquor cabinet.

The guinness gingerbread cake part was moist and chewy (perhaps too chewy, I kinda overbeat the batter…) with a crunchy top and quite a bit of spice on the inside.  The frosting was highly acidic, just the way I like it, with lots of lime juice and a nice fluffy lightness to it that made it feel as if one were eating buttery lime flavored air.

They were quickly eaten up by my friends (who all seem to have incurable cases of senioritis, which  can only be eradicated with beer at 4 in the afternoon) so I only managed to save half of one for myself for the next day (that mysterious other half disappeared while I was asleep, roommates).

But it was the perfect thing to wake up to at 12 noon.  Perhaps I’ll start eating cupcakes for breakfast now.

P1020275

Guinness Gingerbread Cupcakes with Lime Frosting

Adapted from David Lebovitz’ Ready for Dessert

1/2 cup (125 ml) stout beer, such as Guinness

1/2 cup (125 ml) mild molasses

1/2 cup (125 ml) vegetable oil

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 cup (170 g) packed light brown sugar

1 1/3 cups (185 g) all purpose flour

1 1/4 teaspoon baking powder

2 teaspoons ground ginger

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon cloves

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 large eggs at room temperature

1/2 cup (50 g) finely minced candied ginger (I used Whole Foods’ Brand)

Preheat the oven to 350˚ F.  Line a 12 cup muffin tin with cupcake liners or butter profusely and be ready to clean up the pan.

Bring the oil, molasses, and beer to a boil over medium high heat in a large saucepan.  Remove from the heat, whisk in the baking soda until dissolved (the mixture will foam up quite a bit).  Stir in the brown sugar and then let cool until tepid.

Sift together the flour, baking powder, ginger, cinnamon, cloves, and salt in a small bowl.

Whisk the eggs into the stout mixture then gently whisk in the flour mixture until just combined.  Don’t overmix.  Add in the candied ginger.

Evenly fill the cupcake liners bake until the cupcakes are just set in the center, 22-24 minutes.  Let cool completely before frosting.

Lime Frosting

4 tablespoons (2 ounces, 60 g) unsalted butter, at room temperature

1 1/2 (180 g) cups powdered sugar, sifted

2 1/2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lime juice, more to taste

1 tablespoon whole milk

With a stand mixer fitter with the paddle attachment or with a hand mixer, beat the butter for 10 seconds on high speed, or until smooth.  With the mixer running and the speed on low, gradually add half the powdered sugar.  If using a hand mixer, its okay to dump it all in at once.  Stop the mixer, scrape down the sides, and add the lime juice.  Then incorporate the remaining powdered sugar.  Once these are all well enmeshed, add in the milk.  Beat until smooth and fluffy, about 3 minutes.  Taste and add more lime if desired.

I used a knife to frost my cupcakes, but if you have pastry bags, by all means go ahead and make them look fancy.

9 comments
  1. I ate my first guiness cake a few weeks ago at my friends baby shower… they were amazing. I will definitely be making these… gemsfoodgems x

    • Eliza B said:

      Let me know how they go! Yes Guinness cake is the best. Its so moist and lovely. And of course, it has Guinness. I just hope the mother-to-be didn’t have to many cupcakes at the shower!

      • Hehe… no they were specifically for guests only!! Hehe!

  2. Any excuse to have beer mid-day is a good snack to me! These look delish!

    • Eliza B said:

      They are wonderful and beer midday is as well :). You also are left with well over half a can of beer afterwards, so you get quite a bit all to yourself.

  3. Esther said:

    OK. I’m gonna try and make this right now, Except I’m going to make it into a cake and I’m doing it at altitude! Let’s see how this turns out. . . Plus my oven is in centigrade and I may or may not look up the conversion factor.

    • Eliza B said:

      Its 170˚C so no need to guess. Good luck with the altitude Esther… Let me know how it goes. At least the frosting will be good!

  4. Looks great Eliza. Think I’ll make them for the Chez Pascal crew since two of their favorite things are cake and beer. But I shall rename them Siegfried Cakes if its alright with you

    • Thanks! Let me know how they go. And of course, Siegfried Cakes is a great name!

Leave a Reply

