Blogs are like Cocktail Parties

I don’t know why, but I felt the need to take a month off.  A month to have my one job be selling tacos.  I made a lot of food, a lot of tasty food, but I didn’t want to document it, I didn’t want to take perfect photos or take imperfect photos and then feel as if I couldn’t write about it.

I wanted to make food to make food.  I made goat cheese cheesecake and white chocolate and basil ice cream.  I made cakes and cookies for my work fellows, who were greatly appreciative.  I also caught up on Pretty Little Liars and started watching Orange is the New Black.  So all in all a productive month for me.  Right?

I want to get back into writing posts, I do, but I’ve realized I’m never going to be one of those people with one million followers or anything like that.  I feel bad when I follow someone on here and then don’t read and comment on all of their posts.  I could just like their posts, follow them, whatever, and then get more page views, but thats not how I work.  So I’m going to stick with the few blogs I read regularly, maybe when I’m bored and don’t want to apply to jobs for the fall I’ll go in search of new ones.  I can’t play the blogging game.  Its like one giant cocktail party full of people who can enter and leave conversations with ease.  I like to sit on a couch or stand by the food and talk to one person (maybe two) the whole time.  Perhaps because, as Ron Swanson once said, “If there were more food and fewer people, this would be a perfect party.”

Don't worry, Jethro loves cocktail parties.  He'll always be here.

Don’t worry, Jethro loves cocktail parties. He’ll always be here.

12 comments
  1. Eliza – you’re the best. I also stand at the cocktail party talking to one person – maybe two – and try for dear life to find something meaningful and useful to say. Please, please, do keep writing because you DO have something meaningful to say and the blogging world is better for it….

    • Eliza B said:

      Cocktail parties are just so awkward! I don’t know why, I just cannot deal with them, and whomever I latch onto is always unamused with my clinginess. Oh well. Cocktails are fun at least. I will keep writing, I just need to get into it again. I’ve been so lazy on my days off. It will stop.

      • Eliza B said:

        Also thank you!!

  2. I know the feeling. It really is hard to follow so many people with so much talent and time or energy. There is something to be said about living in the moment and not striving for success in everything in your life at once. I’m good at cocktail parties, but I also need my space. On a personal note, my family agrees with you. My mom and sister stopped talking to me when they found my blog. They thought it was showy, self Anand and unoriginal to document my adventures in the kitchen. Now they’re over it, but it is a topic we have to avoid. I get it, but it’s upsetting and I totally see why you would want to just enjoy the party that brings you the most joy. I happen to like your blog a lot 🙂

    • Eliza B said:

      I think blogs are a difficult topic. I resisted starting one for so long because I was afraid of seeming self absorbed. But I don’t think they have to be that way. Although for someone to stop talking to you because you started a blog is a bit extreme!

      In the end, I just want to write this to write it, to hone my writing skills about a subject I love. Not to get the most likes on facebook or whatever.

      • Totally agree

  3. * I meant to write self absorbed. .. auto correct

    • Eliza B said:

      Shoulda kept your Blackberry like me. It takes a full 5 minutes to load a website, but at least there’s no autocorrect!

  4. I feel that is among the most significant information for
    me. And i’m glad reading your article. But want to commentary on some common things,
    The site taste is perfect, the articles is actually great : D.
    Just right job, cheers

Leave a Reply

