Black Bean Brownies (Gluten Free and Tasty)

IMG_2716

These brownies have been an obsession of mine for almost two years, although I never knew if I would be able to recreate them.  The obsession started in Paris (where I just returned to when I went on a whirl wind 6 week adventure around the world) with a little Mexican restaurant called Candelaria.  There, I had the most wonderful, fudgy, chocolaty brownies of my life, and they were filled with black beans.

I’ve used other people’s recipes to try to create the perfect black bean brownie, but it never worked.  In the end, I had to start from scratch, using my baking wherewithal to make my own recipe for fudgy, delicious brownies.  Filled with beans.  Because beans are good for your heart.

IMG_2695

I have terrible handwriting. Don’t judge.

This recipe is pretty good but I do have some guidelines for it.  First off, don’t use extra large eggs, just large eggs.  Extra large ones will make it too cakey and not fudgy enough.  Secondly, if you feel like it, you can just blend everything together in the food processor, including flours and such, and the brownies will be just as tasty and you will have fewer dishes.  They might not rise as much, but that means they are denser and more luscious.

More luscious than kibble.

More luscious than kibble.

Another thing is the chocolate.  I call for both chopped chocolate and cocoa powder in this recipe.  The chopped chocolate stays whole in the batter and melts in the oven, so when you eat them, still slightly warm, you have these surprise pockets of oozing dark melted chocolate that sometimes gets all over your face.

The cocoa powder should be good quality and dutch processed.  I use Valrhona, even though it is pricier, because it makes everything so much more chocolatey.  For the chopped chocolate, no need to be as fancy.

Jethro doesn’t eat beans because he is aghast at some of their after effects, which is fine, more for the rest of us.

Ew.  Beans.  I only eat organic cat food that is outrageously expensive because I'm a prince.

Ew. Beans. I only eat organic cat food that is outrageously expensive because I’m a prince.

Black Bean Brownies (Gluten Free)

1 can black beans, beans rinsed thoroughly

3 T (45 g) melted butter

1/2 cup (107 g) brown sugar

1/4 cup (50 g) white sugar

1 t vanilla extract

2 large eggs, one egg yolk, at room temperature

1/4 cup (35 g) almond flour

1/2 cup (50 g) cocoa powder

1 1/2 t baking powder

1/4 t salt

4 ounces (115 g) chopped chocolate

Preheat the oven to 375˚.  Using two sheets of foil, placed perpendicular to each other, cover an 8 or 9 inch square baking pan with foil.  Then butter the foil.

Mix together all of the dry ingredients.

Blend the beans and the melted butter in your food processor until smooth.  Blend some more.  Get the beans very smooth.

Either transfer the bean mixture to another bowl and continue by hand, or continue to use the food processor.  Add in the sugar and the vanilla.  Beat in the eggs, one at a time.

Add in the dry ingredients, blending until smooth, but don’t over beat.

By hand, mix in the chopped chocolate.  Then spread the batter evenly in the prepared pan and bake for 30-40 minutes, rotating at least once.  Remember everyone prefers underdone brownies to overdone ones.

Let cool and enjoy!

3 comments
  1. Amanda said:

    Wow these look so good. Black bean! Trip around the world?! I love Mexican food of all kinds. I’m not surprised they’d make an awesome gooey brownie like this. I love how you describe the surprising pockets of gooey brownie that get all over your face. Yum! Nice to see you!

    • Eliza B said:

      Thank you for stopping by! Yes, these things are beany and delicious and never last longer than the amount of time it takes to cool them.

      Trip around the world was more a long trip to England and a brief trip to Colombia, with a bit of wandering in France in between. Hopefully I’ll get to travel more soon!

      • Amanda said:

        That sounds amazing. I’ve always wanted to go to Colombia. France must’ve been amazing too. Jealous!

Leave a Reply

